The astrology chart takes the form of a wheel, which is divided into sections. These sections are based on the astrological signs, the Houses, the planets (including the sun and moon), Elements, Angles, Aspects, and Qualities of the zodiac. Each facet of the chart is equally divided individually over the 360° wheel. There are different types of astrology chart: natal, which shows the chart at the time of one’s birth, and maps the individual‘s various personality traits; or progressive, which maps future prospects.

The Signs Of The Zodiac

There are 12 signs represented on the chart, and these are associated with constellations that can be seen in the sky over the period of the 12 month zodiac cycle. The first sign is Aries, beginning at 0°. This is followed in 30° increments on the chart (and chronologically in time) by Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces. Astrologers believe that the sign under which an individual is born influences his or her personality type, behaviours and character traits.

The Houses

Signs of the zodiacAs well as the signs, the zodiac chart is further divided into 12 Houses. Each House is associated with both a planet and a sign, and is ruled by its corresponding sign. So Aries, the first sign, rules the 1st House; the 2nd House is ruled by Taurus etc. The Houses represent twelve components of a person’s life, outlook, and potential. These components are: the self; possessions; communication (including intelligence and relationships); family and home; pleasure/creativity (which includes romance and the arts); health; partnerships; sexuality; philosophy (spiritual growth and higher learning); social status; friendships; and the subconscious.

The Planets

The Planets may exert either a positive or negative influence, depending on their position and the individual’s birth sign. A planet is most influential over the sign it governs. For example, the planet Saturn is most influential over those born under Capricorn and Aquarius, the 10th & 11th Houses. As with the Houses, each Planet governs a facet or energy in one’s life.

The Angles

There are four Angles, and these divide the astrology wheel into quadrants. Each quadrant represents a phase of self-development, and this is linked to the three Houses to which that Angle corresponds on the astrology chart. The first quadrant encompasses the first three Houses, and focuses on the self, possessions and self-expression. The second quadrant is associated with development outside of the self – relationships with and concern for others. The third quadrant is linked with the effect of one’s actions and beliefs and how they affect other people and the environment. The fourth quadrant is connected with the development of the innermost self – secrets, dreams and what really makes a person happy.

The Aspects

The Aspects of the astrology chart provide information about challenges that a person may need to deal with in the process of achieving a balanced, harmonious life. More specifically, the Aspects are signified by angles on the wheel – geometrical relationships between the Planets and points in the zodiac – and are expressed in terms of degrees.

The Elements

The four Elements (each comprising a 90° segment of the wheel) aprovide insight into a person’s core personality. The four elements are fire, earth, air, and water. The Fire signs are Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius, characterised by their fiery, lively temperaments. The Earth signs are Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn, thought to be practical, loyal and reliable. The Air element is associated with Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius – these people tend to be curious, perceptive and intelligent, while the Water signs (Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces) may be more intuitive, sensitive and nurturing.

The Qualities

Finally, the Qualities divide the astrological wheel into three sections of 120° each. The Qualities indicate a person’s dominant mode of behaviour – Cardinal, Fixed, or Mutable, and are again associated with specific signs. The Cardinal signs are Aries, Cancer, Libra, and Capricorn, who are characterized by their drive, initiative, and creativity. The Fixed signs of Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius are often seen as stable and determined types who are more likely to maintain the status quo. Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, and Pisces are the Mutable signs, whose tend to have a more flexible and adaptable approach to life.

This is just a brief overview of what is really a very in-depth subject. For more information, you might like the books below.

Related posts:

  1. Zodiac Tattoo Designs – Finding The Perfect Zodiac Symbol Tattoo
  2. Financial Astrology Software – A Quick Guide
  3. What Are Popular Tattoo Designs?
Share |